Security Officer G License Armed License 28 hours course
An applicant for a Class “G” license must submit proof of having completed an initial course of instruction that includes 28 hours of classroom and range training pertaining to the use of firearms in connection with duties regulated under Chapter 493, Florida Statutes (F.S.).
The 28-hour course curriculum is outlined below:
Legal Aspects of Use of Firearms — 12 hours
This section of the course covers applicable portions of chapters 493, 775, 776 and 790, F.S., as well as civil and criminal liability issues in connection with the use of firearms.
Operational Firearms Safety and Firearms Mechanical Training — 8 to 11 hours
This portion of the curriculum is intended to provide students with a comprehensive understanding of the mechanical operations of a firearm and how to handle firearms safely. A written examination of 100 questions will be administered covering the portions of the curriculum dealing with legal use and operational/mechanical training.
Firearms Qualification — 8 hours*
This segment of the training course includes practical exercises in the handling of firearms — stance, grip, sighting, etc. — as well as topics pertaining to range safety and range commands. The instructor will require students to fire 144 rounds as part of the firearms qualification for initial licensure (48 rounds of practice fire plus two cycles of 48 rounds for initial qualification). No more than eight hours of the 28 hours of training shall consist of range training.
*A Class “K” instructor can, at their discretion, administer as few as five hours of range qualification training if the student demonstrates sufficient mastery of the core principles of safe firearms handling (to include shooting a qualifying score) without the full eight hours of range training. However, reducing the number of hours of range training will require teaching additional hours elsewhere in the curriculum so that the cumulative total of firearms training amounts to 28 hours as required by Section 493.6105(5), F.S.
Additional to this class is a doctors visit for a physical. There is a doctor close to our facility that charges $50.00 for the visit and the completion of your application.
After you have completed the classroom, range, and doctors visit, then you must do your fingerprints and a passport style photo. (Several options are available).
Your State of Florida license is an additional fee.
You have been provided with the breakdown of expenses associated in obtaining your G License. However, if you have any additional questions, please feel free to call us at 786-713-2000 and we will gladly assist you.